Here is the shortcut link to the official Facebook account deletion page.
Read the step-by-step guide for a clean, dignified exit.
Your account will be ‘deactivated’ for two weeks. After this period it will be permanently deleted.
Do not login to your account during this time. It will cancel the deletion request.
Do not be fooled into switching to a deactivation request. Deactivation is NOT deletion.
Consider an account deletion epitaph to notify friends of your departure.
In theory, deleting your account immediately removes all Facebook data related to you. In reality it's more complicated, taking about 90 days.
Allegations of complicity with National Security Agency surveillance suggest that your data may never truly be deleted.
You can still cleanse your Facebook presence for everyone else,
Backup your data before deletion if you'd like a copy.
As hard as you try, some personally identifiable information may remain. This could be something as simple as your name on a message.
You have little control over this or what others share about you in future. The most you can realistically do is ask your friends to respect your privacy.
Data shared with apps and advertisers is with them forever. As a Facebook user you are leaving behind a valuable personal data footprint.
Facebook can track non-users via the ‘like’ button and other similar means. You can minimise this and protect your privacy from Facebook and others.
Facebook owns WhatsApp, Instagram, Oculus and can share data between these and its own products e.g. Facebook Messenger. Keep this in mind when using their apps.
‘And remember, where you have a concentration of power in a few hands, all too frequently men with the mentality of gangsters get control. History has proven that. All power corrupts; absolute power corrupts absolutely.’ — Sir John Dalberg-Acton.